~ New life for obsolete plastic cards

Before – boring, obsolete plastic cards / After – super cute and tiny mini books

    

{Click on each picture for a closer look.}

My co-worker, Maureen, had boxes of old plastic copier key cards.  She was going to throw them out but I rescued and repurposed them into these cute little mini books.  They’re perfect to keep all those half wallet-sized pictures that the kids collect from their friends at school or other little keepsakes.  So, the next time you have a spent gift card (or want to recycle old credit cards or driver’s licenses), cover with scraps of patterned paper and bind with a handy wire coil or rings. 

Stuff:  paper collections – Cloud9 , Pink Paislee; embellishments – Cloud9, Lil’ Davis Designs, Doodlebug; ribbon – Stampin’ Up!, American Crafts; wire binding ring – Bind-it-All

24 thoughts on “~ New life for obsolete plastic cards

  1. Gosh I am going to have to save all my old gift cards now and get a Bind It All too! That is a wonderful idea!

  2. What wonderful little books these are!! I work at a retail store that has gift cards that we throw away when they are used up. Or should I say used to throw away!! These would make great mini brag books for new parents & grandparents.

  3. What a great idea!!!I have a few plastic cards…….but I didn’t buy the Bind -it-all…………
    They are lovely!!!
    Kisses!!!!

  4. These are FANTASTIC!!! I have a TON of little cards at work! I’m going to nab them and take them off to scrap camp next weekend so all of us girls can make a little album!

  5. Pingback: The nightmare continues… « The Scrapbooker’s Weblog

  6. What a great idea, I work for a plastic card company and it is another use for left over plastic cards. Really cute idea. Thanks!!

  7. Lea, this idea is “2 CUTE”!!!!! I just found your blog a few moments ago. . .I bought the bind it all & dreamkuts, however i have been too scared to try them until I found this idea. My hubby works around the US & stay in motels with plastic key cards. I have been saving them with the idea of doing something like this. . .NOW I know I will give it a try. . .THANKS for the push. . .Can’t wait to see the rest of your GREAT IDEAS !!!!

  8. What a beautiful idea, the books look great and what a cute idea for little gifts! (and will get rid of some of the mountains of plastic cards I have from stores all over…)

  9. What a beautiful idea, the books look great and what a cute idea for little gifts! (and will get rid of some of the mountains of plastic cards I have from stores all over…)

  10. Adorable mini books Lea…all your stuff is adorable! I did something similar with Metro Cards from NYC to make a “quick” memory book of a trip there I took with my son! 🙂

Leave a Reply

