~ Valentine’s “Double Door” BIA Book and Surgery Break

valentines-009

I really love how this project turned out!  I’m not a big Valentine’s fan (Halloween/Autumn is my favorite time of year) but there is something to be said about rich browns, reds and pinks in a romantic-themed project.  This one is a “double door” project with two smaller clipboard wood panels on top of a larger base (see below).  I debated the type of closure I would use to keep the “doors” closed.  I borrowed an office idea and made a “guardmail” envelope closure (those of you who work in the government know what I’m talking about) using cardstock, velvet,  rivets and string.  There are a couple of patterned paper-covered acrylic pages inside and pockets with tags inside the smaller “door” panels.

valentines-005valentines-007

{closed book}

valentines-002

{pockets and tags}

valentines-019valentines-018

{opened book}

valentines-015

valentines-022valentines-024

valentines-026 

On more pressing news, I will be out-of-pocket crafting-wise for a couple of weeks.  I am scheduled for surgery this Thursday to remove a mass between my breast and chest wall.  I am so not looking forward to getting cut but it is better to get the mass completely removed than to wonder if it is cancerous.  I hope to be up and running with more projects in February.

Stuff: Zutter/BIA – clipboard wood covers, o-wires, rivets; SEI – paper collection, stickers, rub-ons, cardstock, velvet paper; Stampin Up! – ink, flowers, hat pin, pearls, clear beads, crystal brads; AccuCut – acrylic; lace and crochet string; Adirondack – acrylic paint

20 thoughts on “~ Valentine’s “Double Door” BIA Book and Surgery Break

  1. I will have you in my thoughts, I hope all goes well! Thank you for all your inspiration, your work is fantastic!

  2. Oh lea ! I will be thinking of you xxx make a speedy recovery ya hear ! we will miss your fabulous makes – but make sure you rest up ! xxxxxxxx

    take care
    love maddy

  3. Beautiful book! I love that you added the pockets. I’ve yet to do a album with different types of pages (acrylic, chipboard, etc.)

    My thoughts and prayers are with you in hopes of a speedy recovery.

    Hugs,

    PattiM
    (Pattie’s passion)

    I Scrap So All Moments Are Remembered!!!

  4. Will be holding you in my thoughts for the surgery and a super speedy recovery – just take it easy for a while and keep notes of all wonderful ideas you can create when you feel better!

    Love the valentine’s book – its stunning!

  5. A friend just shared your blog with me, OMG everything is just stunning and wow…plus love your first name 😉 Best Wishes for a Speedy recovery and will keep you in my thoughts…..

  6. I really love your double book. It is a great idea. I need to by some wires and get on emade nw you have given me some inspiration. Goo lookk with your surgery. Hope all is well for you. sue x

  7. hey, lea!

    you will be in my thoughts on thursday! but I will be praying for you a day earlier because technically, it’ll be just wednesday in your side of the the world 🙂

    let us know right away if you are up and about.

    love this V-day inspired double door mini… über pretty!

  8. such a gorgeous album! I could really see making something like that…….pockets are neat!
    Good luck on your surgery & recovery…….take time to heal, read some books & surf the net!
    Let us know how you are doing!

  9. Please, can you PM me and tell me few more thinks about this, I am really fan of your blog…

Leave a comment